Bad handwriting from kids

1 Jul
2013-05-29 10.48.34

She wanted to write 王林, but it ended up looking more like 王木木.

As a foreigner, writing Chinese with a pen or a pencil is always pretty embarrassing. Not having gone through a Chinese language primary and secondary education system, foreigners who study Chinese are often mocked for their childish scribbles that pass for handwriting. This is exactly why I was so happy to finally find something written by a Chinese person which made me feel proud of my writing ability. This is actually the first time I have ever felt that my hand-writing  is better than that of a native-born Chinese person. It seems fair to me, since at five years old she has been exposed to Chinese for about the same number of years that I have. I guess a young children are the only type of Chinese people who write worse than I do!

Leave a Reply

